You can teach a new parent old tricks

No Chokin’

I can’t say I’ve never panicked. What I can say, however, is that I’ve always had the situation under control. As soon as Kyra graduated to solid foods, she seemed to make  habit of choking on them. Her father has remained ever wary of this danger, but has never had CPR training (an invaluable tool for anyone; parent, or not). It just happens to be especially helpful in the company of small children.

I’ve known CPR, nearly my whole life. My father, who was a Nurses’ Aid for many years, taught me CPR quite young, along with a plethora of other simple, basic medical and first aid tidbits. I often babysat for my younger siblings and CPR was a part of that package. Luckily, I never had to use it. The extent of my first aid, back then, was to remedy the single dart, who found its home in the back of my head, as opposed to the dartboard, where it belonged. But, that’s another story.

I re-certify on a regular basis and, I find, it gives me the confidence to know that I can handle almost any minor emergency. It’s a good thing, too. For those first couple of months, her choking knew no bounds. Ritz crackers, the tiniest bits of hot dog, pasta, birthday cake…the list just goes on and on. She’d get verklempt on every tidbit, it seemed. It felt like once a week, at least, that she’d choke to the extent of my having to literally fishhook the offending morsel from her trachea. In fact, she choked so often, back then, that she just helps herself, now. She’s practiced at it, to the point that she can save her own neck (if you’ll excuse my innate goofiness, with that tired pun).

I recommend CPR for all of you, particularly parents and babysitters. But, the important thing, the only way to help anyone, infant or adult, is to keep your head. Always stay calm, and you’ll be able to take care of all the sticky messes a baby throws your way.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. NuttyNeuron
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 17:22:27

    I think if everybody learnt how to perform CPR there would be a decrease in worldy panic levels to say the least. I agree with the remaining calm thing – I should really listen to that lol everytime somebody chokes I panic – choking is quite high in my list of fears 😐

    Reply

Leave a Reply

