Elmo’s Potty Time

 

As I’ve shared, before, potty-training has been a daunting process. For every ‘good’ day (with no, or at least, minimal accidents), we have a day or two of complete forgetfulness, where the potty chair is concerned. When I began down this road, I knew it would be difficult. I was utterly unprepared, however, for the actual level of hardship and find myself wondering…will my daughter ever stop pooping her pants? There is an end in sight, at last, though this has been the most tedious and frustrating journey, thus far.

‘Elmo’s Potty Time’, a video I bought after Googling the genre, has been invaluable. So have (and don’t judge me; I’m only human) occasional bribes. Where the former has been a productive and helpful tool, I do NOT recommend the latter, as it only leads to trouble and confusion. I messed up, giving her treats, but the first time we potty-trained, our efforts were thwarted, by a week off with her grandparents, and I didn’t know what else to do.

Elmo has a potty book out, too, with stickers and sounds, which I’ve also found to be incredibly useful. Many of our children’s favorite characters have similar products, so that, if yours isn’t the biggest Elmo fan, you can probably look up their favorite character online and purchase their training tools. I didn’t find much online, in the way of instructions for us parents. My mom didn’t help, either. It’s true, each kid does this in his or her own way and, most certainly, in his or her own time.

Some people (curse you, lucky ones) have it easy. I did, the first time. Kyra pottied like an old pro within the first couple of weeks and her first successful potty chair venture was a BM, so, we were on the right track. That first time around, I took her to the bathroom with me, every time I went, and pretended (every couple of hours, or so) that I had to go, so she would be encouraged to go potty “like a big girl”. I praised her for every effort, and partied when she succeeded. She knows, now, that it’s a big deal, when she goes to the bathroom, but still, she sometimes forgets. I can’t say that I blame her grandparents, per se, but I do feel a little disappointed about their initial negligence. Some people have it like I do, now. All I can do, as always, is to share my experiences, in the hopes that it helps you, out there, searching for some advice and empathy, where potty time is concerned.

It’s one thing, to say and understand (if, abstractedly) that every kid learns it in his or her own time, and quite another, to live it. I can say, “be patient”, or, “it will happen”, all I want, but the truth is, I’ve agonized over it for almost a year. I’m not going to lie, or sugarcoat it. It’s frustrating. It demands consistency and patience, and we have no choice, as parents, but to grin and bear it. Each day brings us closer, even when it doesn’t feel that way, so, chins up! We’ll all get there, in our own time, and in our own way.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kirsten Lopresti
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 08:18:18

    Bear in the Big Blue House has a good video, too. My daughters loved it! You can never underestimate the importance of catchy songs.

    Reply

  2. Anna
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 18:49:19

    He’s a wise one, that Elmo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

