Weird Stuff My Kid Eats (and does)

As she gets older, my daughter becomes increasingly overzealous and individual. I should have known, when I was pregnant, and craving pure fat intermixed with the spiciest foods known to man, that she was going to be a quirky eater. Kyra has eaten raw onions like they were candy, for a while, now (but, won’t touch broccoli, even with cheese), so I’m used to that one.  Today, she wolfed down a whole plate of tuna casserole. She’s three. Three-year-olds don’t eat tuna  (expletive!) casserole. It got me thinking about all that weird stuff she eats (and does). Naturally, I had to exercise my brain and write it down.

Right now, for example, we’re watching the Phineas and Ferb Movie, on ABC (no; I don’t work for either of them) and my daughter’s favorite character is Ferb. Ferb, in case you don’t know, is the one who barely speaks. She also likes Jeremy, the older sister’s semi-boyfriend.

The spicy food kick definitely transcended the womb. Salsa, hot peppers, spicy cheese dip, jalapeno poppers; she doesn’t care what it is; she takes a bite, scrunches up that adorably fearless face, and takes a big swig of her milk. Then, she proceeds to eat the rest of it.

Earlier today, she was up in her room, with an empty, overturned laundry basket on her head, like she was in a tank. She ate fried green tomatoes last week, but wouldn’t touch her sautéed (in butter and garlic) asparagus, yesterday. She likes McDonald’s cheeseburgers, but, not mine. She speaks of arbitrary and irrelevant things, in frenzied, nonsensical sentence fragments. She sleeps, like bad dreams don’t exist, and dreams, like bad people don’t. I kinda wish we were all still in the Weird Stuff Club.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 15:32:36

    What a fantastic post 🙂

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 11:51:57

    I love this post! I can so relate to her – weird stuff was all me when I was little. Just encourage that uniqueness in her even through school and she won’t ever grow out of it.

    Also, I love how what mothers are craving when they’re pregnant is such a good predictor of the child’s tastes. My mom used to eat huge salads covered in ranch dressing and it remains my staple to this day.

    Reply

  3. olekingcole
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 17:06:14

    This is an awesome post. Haha, I can remember trying things when I was a kid without and fear, sometimes there was a consequence, sometimes not. I also liked weird things and things a certain way.

    Here is a cool thought. When we get older we look down on the younger generation’s taste in things, but when we look at children playing with nothing more than an imagination, it brings us peace, to when we were young.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

