Ok, ok, so I’m a little bit late…

…plus, everyone else is already blogging about it. I don’t usually get political, so I was going to be a gentlewoman and leave this one alone. That is, I was, until I stumbled across this (from an Aunt I used to think was an intelligent, logical, strong woman) on Facebook…

Jody O’Donnell Stinson to Gloria Holmes Cooper
“I do know that many women claim ‘rape’ when indeed it was consensual but later she had second thoughts to save face or get revenge for later being spurned.” I saw this on Roger’s page, written by you. It made me sick. It is people who think (and speak) like this that make girls and women AFRAID to speak out when they have been raped or molested. I KNOW too many who have dark secrets about being harmed and are too afraid to say a word out of fear that they will not be believed because the person was “a good person” and “could never do that”. These people live every day alone with the hurt. I’m not going to sit here and argue my case, I know you will have a billion things to throw at me attempting to defend your statement. I just wanted to stand up for all those who HAVE been hurt and say something because too many times people say nothing at all.Gloria Holmes Cooper: You have your thoughts about it and nothing I can say would change it. You take an example and run with that like it is the whole story. Sheesh! I was a juror at a rape trial. The guy got convicted, but believe me there were extenuating circumstances. Why do you think girls were so protected in the past and wore modest clothing? To thwart them or to protect them? These days molestation and date rape are epidemic. Gee I wonder why?

Julia Gulia: I think I’m going to throw up. There are a lot of things going through my mind right now, but all I will say is that you just lost ALL my respect, Gloria, in implying that any girl, anywhere, is ever “asking for it.” Surprise, surprise… I agree wholeheartedly with Jody. What that right wing nitwit said about “legitimate rape” makes me want to slap him in the face with a prison penis.

* By the way, I am Julia Gulia in this scenario*
She had posted this comment in response to the now infamous Todd Akin quote, which was (in case you’ve been in a fallout shelter for the past two days): “First of all, from what I understand from doctors [pregnancy from rape] is really rare. If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut that whole thing down.”
It has been proven (by modern science, not Jesus) that a woman can get pregnant without having an orgasm, as it seems that this is what he tried to imply. It has also been proven that men have immediate access to two hands and a bottle of lotion. Rape, if you ask me, is inexcusable, by any means.
I’m not going to share my views on abortion. They are akin to George Carlin’s; we’ll leave it at that. A moral aversion to abortion is NO excuse to allow for moral ambiguity on behalf of rape victims. An average rape sentence is eight years, for the offender.
You do the math, for the victim’s average rape sentence.
Leave a Reply

